A Brief Introduction To Me & My Books

Hello everyone! So far, this makes blog #3 for me as an author. I do have one on Blogger, but I haven’t been using it lately. Truth be told, I’m more of a Tumblr guy, though that one is more of a personal/artistic endeavor than I intend this to be.

First of all, I suppose I should say a little about me. I’m currently 26, I live in Allentown, Pennsylvania, and I have been a writer and poet for as long as I can remember, but it wasn’t until a couple years ago that I decided to start writing seriously. I got into self-publishing thanks to the help of my dad showing me a newspaper article about Amanda Hocking, and I’ve since learned quite a bit about the publishing business thanks to authors like J.A. Konrath. Within the course of a year, I finished my first novel entitled The Orphaned Ones, from which the quote in my header is taken. I did release it for a time on Amazon Kindle to test the waters, but I have since taken it down for very rigorous comprehensive editing.

The Orphaned Ones will be the first book in a series of 7 planned full-length novels and 1 novella concerning a group of vampires known as Orphans who have been abandoned by their makers and are mercilessly hunted down by an opposing organization called the Council. Much of the story takes place in the midst of World War II, but the history of some characters extends back to the Dark Ages and all throughout time up until 1950.

The second book I wrote, Blue Car Racer, is a young adult fiction novel about bullying which takes place in a small rural town in the early 1990’s. Earlier this year, I entered it in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA) contest for publication by Penguin Books. I was ultimately cut, but I’m still proud to say that Blue Car Racer churned ahead up to the semi-finals. It is currently available on Amazon Kindle here.

I can’t say that I really have a favorite genre to write in, though I find YA is the easiest. Horror is a bit more of a challenge for me, though I think it largely depends on what the writing style is and the time period in which it takes place. Science fiction has always been an interesting realm for me, mostly because it’s the first genre I really got into as a kid. I remember reading Star WarsThe Tripods Trilogy, some books from the Aliens franchise as well as Predator when I was in middle and high school.

Another series I’m working on is called The Chronicles of Burntown, which is a post-apocalyptic sci-fi story about a rural town in Mississippi called Kentsburg, but is later renamed Burntown by the main protagonist. All of their electronics and cars have stopped working after an unknown event they call “The Shock” occurred, and many of the kids’ parents have died off in the ensuing months. The teens take to drug and alcohol abuse as a means to cope. Meanwhile, some of them begin finding large circular devices planted out in the fields and attempt to piece together what happened. The concept is to construct a 10-part Kindle serial where each of the characters gets to be narrator.

You could say I already have a full plate with these ideas, but trust me, it’s more like a banquet! I suppose I’ve more or less been trying different things in the field of self-publishing because I refuse to believe that there is such thing as a set path to success in this business. I’ve seen many authors try a different approach, then another, then another. Ultimately, everyone will choose what works best for them. My latest approach is to stop all this madness of promotion and marketing I’ve been attempting, because for me, it takes away from writing anything else.

Some authors are self-publishing gurus, some promise to sell you their secrets for the low price of $79 per e-book/audio session/subscription/seminar, some give you great advice that works for under $2, some just say “keep Tweeting” or what have you.

What I’ve come to learn is that virtually NONE of these methods are 100% effective, because it all comes down to one person, and that’s YOU. You’ll find what works best for you on your own time. That’s my advice, and I’m not even successful yet, but I’m certainly learning =)

Anyway, this is me: Peter von Harten, a poet/author/cinephile/electronic musician/equal human rights activist/lover of Applebee’s half-price appetizers and microwaveable steamed-vegetable bags.

I hope you like what you’ve read so far (given that this first post is quite informal), because you’ll be hearing a lot more from me! =)

Current planned novel projects:

  • Otherworld series
  • The Orphaned Ones series
  • Providence, A.D. series
  • The Swarm
  • Fluke
  • Dr. Westley’s Child
  • The Women Who Write Letters
  • On Vulture’s Wings
  • Eristad, God Of The Underworld
  • 8mm
  • Gone By Nightfall short stories
  • The Chronicles of Burntown serial
Leave a Reply

